# **City Council**

### Monday 25 January 2021

#### PRESENT:

Councillor Mavin, in the Chair. Councillor Winter, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Mrs Beer, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Buchan, Carson, Churchill, Coker, Cook, Corvid, Dann, Darcy, Sam Davey, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Michael Leaves, Samantha Leaves, Loveridge, Lowry, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Parker-Delaz-Ajete, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Singh, Pete Smith, Rebecca Smith, Stevens, Jon Taylor, Kate Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Ms Watkin, Wheeler and Wigens.

The meeting started at 1.45 pm and finished at 2.05 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <a href="https://www.plymouth.gov.uk">www.plymouth.gov.uk</a>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

## 57. **Declarations of Interest**

The were no declarations of interest made by councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

## 58. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwoman

Councillor Evans OBE (Leader) introduced the nomination of Dr John Mahony, Mr Ken Foster and Mrs Jean Nelder as Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen. The motion was seconded by Councillor Kelly (Leader of the opposition).

It was <u>agreed</u> that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(I) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers on Dr John Mahony, Mr Ken Foster and Mrs Jean Nelder, the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman in recognition of their eminent services to the Council of the said City during the period when they were a Member of the Council.

For (56)

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Ball, Mrs Beer, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman, Buchan, Carson, Churchill, Coker, Cook, Corvid, Dann, Darcy, Davey, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Michael Leaves, Samantha Leaves, Loveridge, Lowry, McDonald, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Parker-Delaz-Ajete, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Singh, P Smith, R

Smith, Stevens, Jon Taylor, Kate Taylor, Tuffin, Tuohy, Vincent, Ms Watkin, Wheeler, Wigens, Winter (DLM), Lord Mayor Councillor Mavin.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Absent/Did Not Vote (I) Councillor Jonny Morris

A video then played from the nominees: Dr John Mahony, Mr Ken Foster, Mrs Jean Nelder.